Morning Meditation 1, 10, 2024

This morning as I began my meditation I used the method described in my previous blog entry—that of dissolving the objective world by letting go of the patterned-ego, the self, and the Self as I focus on Subjective Consciousness without an object and imagine High Indifference.

Partway into today’s meditation it was as if someone changed the channel and provided a clarification—a necessary one. And it came via the soul levels of the Kabbalah. I should add here that, for me, High Indifference is akin to Mt Everest which can be reached by way of several paths but, primarily, by way of the Northeast and Southeast routes. So, High Indifference can be reached through Buddhism, Judaism, Hinduism, Islam or Christianity because their mystical or esoteric paths all arrive at the summit.

But I digress: So as I listened to the different channel this morning, I was reminded of the five soul levels in the Kabbalah: Nefesh, Ruach, Neshama, Chaya and Yechida. Since these terms may be unfamiliar, I will refer to them as the 5 levels beginning with level 1, the Nefesh.

All new souls entering the physical world come in at the 1st level even though their Oversoul may be at a higher level. I visualize this as a helium-filled balloon. At birth the balloon is on the ground but, in reserve, is enough string to allow it to rise to the Oversoul level depending on the intuitive choices made in life.

Based on psychic readings and my own meditations, I believe my Oversoul is at the 3rd level with an aspiration that my incarnation would rise to that level and make progress toward the 4th. I feel that I have barely touched the 2nd level, so let me explain.

The 1st level soul is all about the physical body and environment. At the 2nd level the intellect is used extensively, while the focus is on attempting to arouse emotions to love God, or Oneness, with all one’s heart. I have spent thirty-some years intellectually pursuing a spiritual understanding and, in meditation, often asked for assistance opening my heart. Other than having open heart surgery, I haven’t made much progress.

Other incarnations of my Oversoul have been rabbis, priests, and monks so some loved God and others related to the Oneness of Subjective Consciousness. As Chabad.org explains the 3rd level: “One of the signs that a person is on this level of consciousness is that when the mind is clearly focused on an appropriate Divine concept, all of the senses become temporarily nullified. Subsequently, due to the abundance of spiritual light one experiences at this level, the emotions of love and awe are automatically aroused—and to a much greater extent than in the previous level, where effort was expended in arousing the emotions.”

So the question is, how does this relate to yesterday’s meditation on High Indifference? For me it was a sobering explanation of why my goal of experiencing High Indifference may be beyond my reach. Going from level 2 to level 5 and skipping the intermediate steps could overwhelm the mind and body. It might be similar to someone experiencing a kundalini awakening without preparation. I have read accounts of these experiences and it often leaves a person disoriented.

Reflecting on the explanation this morning, I admit to being somewhat disappointed but, on the other hand, appreciative of the warning with the suggestion to focus on level 3. There is enough string on my helium balloon to reach it.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment