Another interesting middle-of-the-night dream

February 19, 2024

It’s 2:19 a.m. and I just had another dream I have to remember. I awakened from the dream and needed to use the bathroom, but as I lay in bed I realized I was still watching the dream unfold. So, I stayed, watched, and listened as long as I could.

Somehow I knew the woman in the dream was an aunt, but not a very good one although I didn’t know those details, and she was on her way to visit her young niece and nephew. When she arrived at their house the children were outside on the sidewalk and there was a huge alligator approaching them. The aunt leaped out of the car, grabbed both of the children in her arms, somehow opened the door and put them inside. There was a broom on the porch which she picked up instantly. Then without fear she approached the alligator and swept it off the walk into the grass. It scurried away. Although she wasn’t religious, she immediately thanked the Lord.

Next she ran back into the house looking for the children but they weren’t there. Thinking they had gone out the back door, she ran through the house and out into the field. In the dream she used the word “rushes” which I understood to be tall weeds in which other alligators could be hiding. She was so scared as she ran frantically calling the children when, suddenly, she looked up at the house and could see them standing at the window watching her.

At that moment she was struck with a vision that the children in the world were protected by the Lord and safe in His arms, and she was overcome with love. She ran to the house, went inside, and once again scooped up the children and said how thankful she was they were safe.

Now I’m awake from the dream and listening to her tell the story to something like a church congregation:

She was saying that thirty years ago there was a moment that changed her life and she believed in God. Before that she hadn’t really given Him much thought.

But that was only half the story. As she continued talking, she told the congregation that her niece and nephew also changed that day. When they were those little children and saw their aunt running in the rushes in the back of their house, they didn’t know what she was doing. They were worried she would get eaten by an alligator. The strange thing was the children had been in the house the whole time. They weren’t on the sidewalk when their aunt arrived; she had never scooped them up and put them in the house; and she hadn’t even come inside. Instead, as soon as she arrived she ran into the rushes which scared them.

As they stood at the window watching her run around frantically looking for something, they too instantly had a vision that God was protecting her and she would be safe. In fact, they somehow knew that God was protecting everyone.

When their aunt, thirty years ago, had returned to the house she actually did scoop them up in her arms and told them how much she loved them. It wasn’t until a few years later they all shared their stories.

The aunt told them she was so scared when she arrived that day and they were out on the sidewalk near the alligator. Only, the now-teenagers told her they weren’t outside at the time. They were inside playing with their toys and went to the window when they heard her car pull into the driveway. There wasn’t any alligator, and they didn’t know why she was running in the rushes. All three of them wondered how they could be inside and outside at the same time, and how there could be two versions of the incident.

The aunt was certain they were outside and that she swept the alligator off the walk, but the teenagers insisted they were inside the whole time. Then all three of them talked about their vision that the Lord, or God, protected everyone just as she was trying to protect them.

Even though they were young children at the time, that moment when they were so scared their aunt might get hurt, the vision they had gave them faith which remained with them to the day they were sitting in the congregation listening to her tell the story.

As I lay in bed needing to get up but still awake listening to her finish the story, she said what perplexed the three of them the most was how the children could have been both outside on the walk and inside at the same time. The aunt knew she wasn’t making it up; it was very real and she was so scared the children would be harmed. From the children’s perspective, they were inside and safe the whole time and worried the aunt would be hurt. But, the vision they had of everyone being protected was so powerful they never had doubt again that God was protecting and watching over everyone.

At that point I hurriedly made my dash to the bathroom, returned to the bedroom and was ready to get back in bed when I looked at the clock and saw it was 2:19 a.m. and close to the same time as the other major dream I had about two weeks previously which I wrote about and posted on the blog.

As I finish typing this, it’s approaching 3 a.m.

It’s now 8:30 and I can add that I was unable to fall asleep until about 4 a.m. but eventually did. I was up again just before 6:30 and began connecting my meditation, reading and thoughts from the previous day and relating them to the dream. Then during this morning’s meditation I had an “aha” thought, not necessarily an extraordinary moment, but a realization that has answered a question I have pondered for some time. Hopefully in the next day or so I will type this information and post it as a blog entry.

In the meantime, if anyone has thoughts about the dream they would like to share, I would be interested. I want to add, however, I admit to having difficulty with exoteric mythic religion so my personal understanding views the dream from an esoteric mystical perspective.

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Another interesting middle-of-the-night dream”

  1. Frank DeMarco Says:

    When I read “rushes” I thought of Moses in the bullrushes. I wish my friend Robert Clarke were here to interpret, as this is rich in symbolism. I think the broom and the “rushes” are connected symbols. The children being inside and outside, and they knowing that they are safe and that “God is protecting everybody” strikes me as our souls knowing in the non-3D that 3D drama is drama,, but isn’t as real as we experience it to be. But of course all of this may be wrong.

  2. charlessides Says:

    Thank you for commenting on the entry. I too thought of Moses and the bullrushes, but I didn’t know what they were until I looked on the Internet when I got up. I also thought of alternate universes which would explain the two versions of the story. Since I have been focused on consciousness without an object and unconditional love, that’s been my perspective when reviewing the dream. I hadn’t given any thought to the symbolism of the bullrushes and broom. I’m curious to know what you think they might mean as well as why there was an alligator. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen a real one.

    • Frank DeMarco Says:

      I think what matters here is not my associations to the symbols, but yours. If i had never seen an alligator and you were trying to describe one to me in a few words, what would you say?

  3. charlessides Says:

    I would describe an alligator as a giant lizard with big teeth and the capability of eating a person… which they sometimes do.

    • Frank DeMarco Says:

      I would emphasize that giant mouth and teeth too; i should think everybody would. It also seems to me something so primeval that it can’t be reasoned with, only feared. Isn’t that some people’s idea of (experience of?) the divine?

Leave a comment